Different layers of KM architecture

Knowledge Management

Please send your query

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Query

Different layers of KM architecture

KM Architecture has seven layers in it as depicted in the diagram below. Each layer has been discussed in the following few paragraphs.

The User Interface (Layer 1)

User interface design focuses on consistency, relevancy, visual clarity, navigation, and usability.

Authorized Access Control (Layer 2)

Collaborative Intelligence and Filtering (Layer 3)

 Personalized views based on stored knowledge
 Groupware to facilitate both sync- and asynchronous interaction and discussion
 Intelligent agents reduce search time for needed information

Knowledge-Enabling Application (Layer 4):

 Referred to as value-added layer
 Creates a competitive edge for the learning organization
 Provides knowledge bases, discussion databases, automation tools, etc.
 Ultimate goal: show how knowledge sharing could improve the employees

Transport Layer (Layer 5)

 Most technical layer to implement
 Includes LANs, WANs, intranets, extranets, and the Internet
 Ensures that the company will become a network of relationships
 Considers multimedia, URLs, graphics, connectivity speeds, and bandwidths

Middleware (Layer 6)

 Focus on interfacing with legacy systems and programs residing on other platforms
 Designer should address databases and applications with which KM system interfaces
 Makes it possible to connect between old and new data formats

Physical Repositories (Layer 7)

 Bottom layer in the KM architecture
 Represents the physical layer where repositories are installed
 Includes intelligent data warehouses, legacy applications, operational databases, and special applications for security and traffic management.

Layers of KM Architecture